Summer Abrienne Teves Ventura or Sab is my one and only goddaughter. Sab is my sister-friend’s first daughter born three days after I celebrated my 27th birthday.  We are both born under the sign of Capricorn which makes us ambitious, disciplined, patient, resourceful, humorous and reserved.  Her first names were given by her parents. “Summer” is her mom’s personal favorite name and she often used it as her screen name at work. “Abrienne” was picked online and considered by her parents because of its meaning which is, the  feminine form of “Abraham” – the Father of many.

Here is the meaning of her name that I got online. Your name of Summer makes you a capable leader and organizer. You find it difficult to be in positions of subservience or where you are taking advice from others. You desire the best and want to be successful and financially prosperous and are willing to give practical help where it is deserved. You are ambitious and practical and often look at things for their financial viability. Fairness is important to you and you could be drawn to the justice system. This name makes you too forceful at times, limiting the natural feminine qualities of tenderness and tact.

Your name of Abrienne creates a desire for association with people and new experiences. This name has given you a gregarious personality and a quick-thinking, creative, and versatile nature, but one that is very emotional. You desire change and travel and would enjoy opportunities that allowed you to be creative and to act independently, rather than to conform to system and routine.

I visited Sab for like 8 to 10 times only during her first year and I never carried or played with her, I’m scared that I might unconsciously hurt or mishandled her maybe because I find her too tiny (I think?!) or maybe I don’t have that nursing and child care skills but don’t get me wrong, I do love kids!  As far as I can remember, the last time I saw her was last July 2010. She still can’t manage to walk or stand alone and she loved to watch Elmo and Barney on you tube. Five months after my last visit, I’m expecting that when she sees me again she might freak out, run fast and hide. Or she might cry and avoid me. But as I walked in to their living room, I saw her standing beside the stairs. I then said “Hi Sab!” she paused and looked at me for a while and so I thought I scared her but I was really surprised that she runs towards me extending her arms and gave me a warm hug. We sat on the couch while waiting for her Mom to come downstairs. I took some pictures and she kept on grabbing my bag and taking all my stuff out. From there, every weekend, I would come by to have dinner at their place and Sab never fail to amaze me in her own sweet and smart way.

Sab is too smart for her age. There are things she did that would shock her parents and me. Some two-year old kids would play after eating lunch or dinner but Sab is different. She will give her used plate and drinking glass to “Nanay” or her “Kuya Kian”. Then her Mom once told her that the pictures at the altar are her grandmother or Lola Mama who died four years ago. And if you ask her “Sab, where is Lola Mama?”  She will get her Lola Mama’s three pictures from the altar one at a time.  Look at it then she sign of the cross and pray. Kiss the pictures and hold it up above her head then turn around slowly like she’s dancing with her Grandma’s pictures. After that she placed the pictures at the couch or floor then act sad and crying.  And she keeps on doing that everyday even no one asks her. She can also count up to 20 while some kids same as her age can only count up to 10. Sab is a keen observer, she will return things like remote control, shoes or slippers same exact position and place from where she took it. Very organize and detail oriented at a very young age.

I call her “My Little Chatterbox” because she’s talkative, lively and full of energy. I hope she didn’t get it from me, considering that I’m a constant and loud talker as well (LOL). Well, everyone she comes across can’t believe at her age. I’m not exaggerating but she’s really smart, talented and amazing!

Today! Sab is celebrating her 2nd birthday and I created a simple gift for my adorable and amazing god daughter (inaanak) and for her family – Sissy Sachee, Jay-R & Kian!  A slideshow of her, growing up from zero to two…


This is for you….. Our Bratty, Beautiful and  Sweet Princess SAB. I love you and I will always be here for you!

About Jabelah

I might not be someone's first choice, but I am a great choice. I don't pretend to be someone I'm not, because I'm good at being me. I might not be proud of some of the things I've done in the past, but I'm proud of who I am today. I may not be perfect, but I don't need to be. I am the way God made me. A Cheerful giver & constant talker. I like pink & brown. I can’t live without dogs. Movie & TV series enthusiast. Chocoholic & caffeine addict. Philosophical & sensitive by nature. I choose to be logical rather than emotional. I love to laugh & make people laugh. I know prayer time is a must. Dancing is my first love & my passion. I love my life as much as I love myself!

One response »

  1. Sabine says:

    Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was searching for!

Leave a Reply

