I was eight years old when I discovered that dancing is what I really love to do. I’m not a good or competitive dancer but I believe that one of the greatest gift that God has blessed me with is the desire and passion to dance. I find a different joy and freedom everytime I dance and seems All of my worries and stress just melt away the moment I begin to move. It helps me forget the reason why I’m sad or mad and just forget the world for awhile.It started as a hobby that turned to obsession when I was in high school. It came to a point that my mom was so worried about my academic standing and grades after I went down from second to third honor in sophomore year. I was so active in joining school activities and always on top of the list when it comes to folk dance, cheering, street dancing and other school presentations.

During this amazing years here is what I enjoyed:
I was getting exempted from attending classes and examinations.
I enjoyed getting extra allowance and meals every time we practice.
I represent my school every competition and gain a little popularity in school and to other schools.

Twelve years ago my cousin introduce me to her religious community, The Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal Parish Charismatic Prayer Community in Iloilo. They have more or less 20 active members who are devotedly serving God through their music. They have instrumentalists for the band, singers and dancers or animators. My cousins asked me to choreograph some joyful and modern songs needed for the coming music ministry workshop and from there, I get to join them on Sunday charismatic masses, Thursday Prayer Meetings, Recollections, Sister’s Night out, Date with the Lord. I also worked with them together with the Joyful Servants of the Holy Spirit Charismatic Prayer community during Airckabs, World Youth Day and four religious concerts. We animate or perform tambourine dance, interpretative and modern dances.

During my stay with the music ministry, I learned a lot of things…
I only dance for God and not for the people or for the world.
I will evangelize and encourage people to worship His name through dancing.
I’m not a dancer, I’m an animator that animate God’s love to his people through spirit filled songs and dances.

The joy I felt in high school years dancing on stage in front of my school mates that I called my audience is different from the joy I felt, Dancing on stage seeing God’s people dancing and rejoicing and that God is our only audience. I realized that God gifted each one of us with unique talents and abilities and we have to use it not to gain popularity but to spread God’s love and word to his people. We should not take the credit when  someone express their admiration on how we sing or dance, we should always give it back to God by saying “Praise the Lord” for we owe our talents to Him.Through this community I was able to hear inspiring messages of God and his call for service. I felt the love and concern of people and their good intention to fill in the missing pieces in my life. I met friends who always lift my spirit and tap my back so I won’t feel alone.

I have great respect and admiration for the people I worked before in the music ministry and I want to thank them for touching and inspiring me to live my life in God’s way. I will always love them as my brothers and sisters and they will always have a special place in my heart.

Dancing for God is one of the best blessings I have in my life. I may not have a community right now where I can share and use my talent but it doesn’t change my desire to love and serve Him. God knows I can dance anywhere, even if only in my heart. As what Nang Inday Lilivic say during our thanksgiving prayer after a successful concert …

“Let’s give glory to the Lord three, two and one” –    GLORY!

Great dancers aren’t great because of their technique; they are great because of their passion.

About Jabelah

I might not be someone's first choice, but I am a great choice. I don't pretend to be someone I'm not, because I'm good at being me. I might not be proud of some of the things I've done in the past, but I'm proud of who I am today. I may not be perfect, but I don't need to be. I am the way God made me. A Cheerful giver & constant talker. I like pink & brown. I can’t live without dogs. Movie & TV series enthusiast. Chocoholic & caffeine addict. Philosophical & sensitive by nature. I choose to be logical rather than emotional. I love to laugh & make people laugh. I know prayer time is a must. Dancing is my first love & my passion. I love my life as much as I love myself!

5 responses »

  1. theWomanAtTheWell says:

    This was beautiful post. I love the freedom of expression from dancing and the getting lost in the inspiration of the notes, I don’t dance but I love dance it is beautiful. Thanks for sharing. God bless

  2. Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! However, how could we communicate?

  3. Amazing! It is like you understand my mind! You seem to know so much about this, just like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the content home a bit, besides that, this is outstanding blog post. A wonderful read. I will definitely be back.

  4. Vernon Drumm says:

    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular post!
    It is the little changes which will make the greatest changes.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

