There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle. These days most people think it unscientific to believe in miracles, and irreligious not to believe in them. I asked four people if they believe in miracles and here’s what I got:

  • Yes! The fact that you are alive and breathing is already a miracle.
  • I won’t believe in miracles until I see one happen, to see is to believe.
  • No I don’t believe in miracles, but I believe in happy accidents.
  • I am a miracle. So yes, I believe in miracles.

I am a witness God’s Miracle.

Please pray and be strong the doctor said to me, prepare yourself mentally and spiritually because there is a little chance that she will survive and if she will, your mom will be comatose for life. I felt my heart stopped beating, my body is floating and was mentally blocked out.  As I watch my mom at the glass window of the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) and tears is flowing from my eyes,  I only have one thing on my mind “Lord, your will be done”.

Hemolytic anemia? This is what the confused doctor wrote on my mom’s medical record seven years ago. The doctors who examined her are not sure what type of Anemia my mom acquired, they just considered it as Hemolytic Anemia. My mom’s skin was yellowish and pale, she is unconscious and strapped with tubes inside the Intensive Care Unit (ICU). Her red blood cells don’t contain enough hemoglobin, an iron-rich protein that carries oxygen from the lungs to the rest of the body. Normal hemoglobin content on blood for female should be between 12 to 15 gm/dL but mom only has 3 gm/dL. Her doctor requires 6 units or packs of type AB blood for immediate blood transfusion.  Type AB is rare and some people who have this type of blood are using it for business, they will ask you to pay 4 to 5 figures just for 1 unit of blood. Of course, you can’t say no when it’s life or death situation like my mom. But that was our last option if we can’t avail blood from Philippine National Red Cross (PNRC).

Bad news! The receptionist informed me that due to insufficient supply of  type AB blood  they require us to bring 1 donor with the same blood type in exchange for 1 unit  of blood which means  I can’t get 1 unit right away even if my mom need emergency transfusion. I sat quietly on the bench after the girl left and ask God, hey it’s 1 AM in the morning, I need 6 donors but can you tell me where I can I find the first one. Good News! I saw my classmate which is also my laboratory buddy in college coming out from the laboratory room so I called him, chat for a while and I was able to ask him a favor to at least give me 1 unit of Type AB Blood with the assurance that I will look for a donor to pay it. Dinner time, we received a visit from a former co-worker and his friend who has type AB blood and willing to donate for my mom. Thank God! I can pay the first unit of blood I owe to my classmate and to PNRC.

The following day, we receive a text message from a donor saying that he heard the radio announcement regarding our need for blood donors. He will donate his blood and he is now in PNRC so we need to meet him there right away then he gave his name. As soon as we arrived we look for the donor but no one showed up or replied to our text messages, it’s a fraud! I was so mad that I want to hunt this fraud donor and punch his face. After an hour, I received another text from the fraud donor saying that, I was here you didn’t see me? I saw the two of you? (Me and my cousin). We decided to go back again to PNRC and checked him and when we came in the donor approached us and told us that “They already have my blood, I’m going home now”. He thought we’re not going back to see him so he asked the medical technologist at PNRC to take his blood and give it to my mom. He refused when I offered him lunch and he didn’t accept the money as well.  He just asked me for Php 100.00 enough for his fare. He told me to take his blood immediately and transfer it to my mom and so I asked why and explained to him that is  impossible because what PNRC do is they will give you blood from their stock and not the new ones. But he insist, the blood must be transferred immediately believe me he said and then he leave. Though I have doubts, I followed the donor’s advised and asked another favor to my classmate to give me the blood of that donor. The doctors were surprised for the result, her hemoglobin increased after 2 units of blood only. My mom recovered and is now happy serving the Lord in her own way for the second chance and for the second life.

Health challenges opened a pathway for me and my mom to deepen our faith, trust, and courage and I am so grateful for the healing. I do believe that whatever our hearts desires, if we believe strongly enough in them, they would come true. The mind is a very powerful thing. And it can command our body to follow or to heal. We just have to have faith. And of course, we have to have faith in God.

I am a fan of God and yes I believe in miracles. I know it happen every day. Some are dramatic like the healing of my mom’s anemia. Some can be so subtle and easily overlooked. Other miracles are sweet and bring a smile to your face or take your breath away by their beauty and purity: a beautiful sunrise, nature, an answer to a prayer, a child’s giggle, watching my dogs sleep, content and peaceful.

Do you believe in miracles? Are you open to allow and receive miracles into your daily life? Do you recognize them when they come? Do you appreciate and celebrate them? Do you know that you are a miracle?

To everyone whose life you touch and who you allow to touch yours – I wish you a miraculous day!

About Jabelah

I might not be someone's first choice, but I am a great choice. I don't pretend to be someone I'm not, because I'm good at being me. I might not be proud of some of the things I've done in the past, but I'm proud of who I am today. I may not be perfect, but I don't need to be. I am the way God made me. A Cheerful giver & constant talker. I like pink & brown. I can’t live without dogs. Movie & TV series enthusiast. Chocoholic & caffeine addict. Philosophical & sensitive by nature. I choose to be logical rather than emotional. I love to laugh & make people laugh. I know prayer time is a must. Dancing is my first love & my passion. I love my life as much as I love myself!

One response »

  1. the problem with miracles is that the bar is set very low.

    if it’s explainable, then its not a miracle.

    and so far, there’s not been any claimed miracle that remains unexplained

Leave a Reply

